Awards and Honorees

Annual Award Recipients

2009  2010  2011  2012  2013  2014  2015  2016  2017

Corporate Partner Award

Given to businesses or their employees for outstanding service to the hiking community. Awardees.

Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes exceptional service, usually three or more years. Nominations can only be submitted by Committee Chairs. Awardees.

Don Derr Award

Recognizes the outstanding contributions and exemplary service by off-trail volunteers. Usually given after five or more years of service or at the conclusion of a major project. Awardees.

Honorary Life Membership

Conveys life member status and the right to vote at Voting Member meetings. Usually given after long (greater than 20) years of extraordinary service to the Trail Conference. Awardees

Ken Lloyd Award

Recognizes Trail Conference member clubs who have demonstrated exemplary service to trail maintenance, management, and/or trail land protection. Awardees.

Leo Rothschild Conservation Award

Presented to a person or organization that has made a significant contribution to the protection of our trails and/or the natural lands that surround them. Awardees.

Major William A. Welch Trail Partner Award

Presented to those outside the Trail Conference (for example, state, federal, or local agency partner officials) who have given long and/or significant assistance to the Trail Conference. Awardees.

Next Generation Award

Given to those under age 21 who make significant contributions of time and energy to trail building or protection. Awardees.

Paul Leikin Extra Mile Award

Recognizes those volunteers who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to projects such as a book, map or advocacy. Awardees.

Raymond H. Torrey Award

The Conference's most prestigious award, given for significant and lasting contributions that protect trails and the land upon which they rest. Awardees.

William Hoeferlin Award

Recognizes Trail Conference volunteers who have demonstrated exemplary service to trail maintenance, management, and/or trail land protection. It is usually given after more than seven years of service. Awardees.