Hike Reviews

January 22, 2017
0
GPS coordinates have been corrected
Daniel Chazin

The GPS coordinates have been corrected so that they now reference the parking lot at the southern end of the reservoir.  Thanks for pointing out the error.

January 20, 2017
0
Parking GPS wrong?
asmumsa
The GPS coordinates point to the side of Split Rock Rd west of the reservoir, about 0.8 miles away from the parking lot on the map.
June 12, 2016
0
East and West of Splitrock
tmcman
I'm wondering why the areas east and west of Splitrock Reservoir don't have a trail description. I gather from comments that parking is limited off of Splitrock Road. But if there was a description determined hikers could park in one of the Wildcat Ridge WMA areas and hike north to access Four Birds and Splitrock Loop north of Splitrock Road. I value NYNJTC and appreciate all their work. Thanks.
December 08, 2015
0
Trails around Split Rock Reservoir
Estelle
As Trails Chair for the region I am concerned about your comments.  Would you be specific as to what trails you are talking about?   North or south of Split Rock Rd?  What color trails were you on?  We have active maintainers and an active Trail Supervisor so are always concerned with negative comments.   Please respond directly to my email at   [email protected]  Thank you
December 08, 2015
0
I'm an experienced hiker and
greg122
I'm an experienced hiker and I disagree. It's clear by the faded paint (painting bark is never a good idea) that these trails have not been maintained. Glad I had my GPS with me. Additionally not everyone is an "experienced hiker".  
December 07, 2015
0
Trails are in good condition
Daniel Chazin
I just hiked this loop last Thursday, and I'm afraid I must disagree with the above assessment of the condition of the trails.  Here's what I wrote to the volunteers in charge of these trails following my hike (and before the above comment was posted): "For the most part, this trail [the Split Rock Loop Trail south of the reservoir] was in very good condition.  The blazes were sharp, clear and easy to see.  In the section west of the stream crossing, there were a few places where the next blaze was not immediately evident, although it could be found if you looked carefully.  It would be useful to add a few more blazes in several locations along this section."  So, yes, there is some room for improvement, but in my opinion, any experienced hiker should be able to follow this trail without undue difficulty.
December 07, 2015
0
Be careful!
greg122
Trails are poorly marked. Paint has faded and painted bark has fallen off trees. Easy to get lost. A shame since the trails along the reservoir and south of it are fantastic. This whole area needs to be updated desperately.
December 04, 2015
0
Trail has been rerouted to cross new footbridge
Daniel Chazin
I did this hike yesterday and updated the description.  Yes, the trail has indeed been rerouted as you describe.  The new bridge is about 0.15 mile north of the location of the previous stream crossing, so the trail is now about 0.3 mile longer.  The original hike description pointed out that the former stream crossing on rocks could be very difficult, and this new footbridge makes it possible to cross the stream without any concerns under all water conditions.  Thank you so much for pointing out this important relocation!
November 24, 2015
0
It appears the trail got re-routed
jwrushman
11/24/15 - Following the Blue Trail down from Cedar Point and past the abandoned mine opening, rather than crossing the woods road, the trail turns right and follows the woods road about 1 or 2 tenths of a mile.  It then turns left and crosses the Split Rock Brook on a wooden bridge.  Then the Blue Trail turns left and backtracks on the other side of the stream before heading uphill and rejoining the trail as described above.
August 21, 2015
0
Split Rock Road and Dam are open for traffic.
Estelle
The repairs are complete and the road over the dam is now open.  They have added a traffic light at each end of the dam, makes it a lot easier to cross now.  
May 10, 2012
0
Split Rock Reservoir Parking
Estelle
To emphasize Jon's message, there is absolutely NO Parking along the entire Split Rock Rd. There are signs indicating this.  The only parking is in the Fishing Access lot.   To access Four Birds from other locations, there is parking at Upper Hibernia off Green Pond Rd, also at the Hawk Watch parking area, on Timberbrook Rd outside of Camp Winnebago (do not park in the camp) and a couple of pull-ofs on Green Pond Rd east of Cragmeur. and parking on Bigelow Rd /Green Pond Rd at the ballfield for the northern trail head. With good weather coming, the PD will be more zealous in patrolling and ticketing. 
May 09, 2012
0
Split Rock Reservoir Parking
jmartin
I would like to reiterate the warning expressed by other posters... PLEASE PARK IN DESIGNATED PARKING AREAS ONLY!!! It has been brought to our attention by our volunteers that parking tickets are being distributed regularly to folks who are not parking in designated lots.  Before you head out on the trail we ask that you take a look at a Trail Conference map to see where parking is allowed.  I have heard of people being ticketed upwards of $250 for parking illegally.
July 05, 2010
0
I question the designation as "moderate"
writer245

First of all, I would like to extend thanks to the initial reviewer. The description of the trail and its landmarks (especially the pointer to the old hematite mine) is excellent. We had no trouble finding the landmarks and following the (recently) painted trail blaze marks.

I would not characterize this hike as "moderate," however. I would classify it as "difficult" or "very difficult." The reason for this assessment is that this trail involves walking on and through endless numbers of boulders, ranging in size from the size of your shoe to the size of your car. Our family was constantly negotiating, stepping on, or hopping from rock to rock to rock.

Add to this the fact that this trail goes up, down, then up, then down, then up, then down, and up and down over and over again, all the while doing it while stepping from rock to rock. See, the heart of this trail is to get from one ridge to another by walking through the boulder-strewn valley and stream between them. They are significant climbs, both up and down.

The reviewer mentions some stream crossings that may have high water. I would add that if it's been raining lately, these stream crossings might well be impossible to navigate safely. On a hot July day, they were easily passable. I would not want to be there after a heavy rain.

In summary, I would say that this trail is more of an "obstacle course" than a "hiking trail." It's a beautiful obstacle course, with great views and beautiful natural scenes. But, an obstacle course nonetheless. Be prepared for this obstacle course with plenty of water, food rations, and most importantly excellent boots. Try it, just try it knowing what you're getting into.

ADDITIONAL WARNING ABOUT PARKING: It would seem that the town of Rockaway is mostly funded by issuing parking tickets along the Split Rock Road. We saw dozens of cars with parking tickets awaiting their owners. The small parking lot just past the one-lane dam road fills quickly. Get there early, and if you can't park in that lot, DO NOT PARK ON THE ROAD. It'll cost you $115.

May 27, 2010
0
This hike would be better in
suzyqueues
This hike would be better in the Spring or Fall when there aren't leaves on the trees blocking all the views.