Hike Reviews

September 15, 2016
0
Views still exist
Daniel Chazin
The viewpoint from the Curtis-Ormsbee Trail over Table Mountain still exists. There has been some tree growth, but if you head a little to the left, there is a spot where you can still get a panoramic view.  I was there this past January, and I have a beautiful unobstructed photo of Table Mountain that I took from this viewpoint.  The trick is to turn left and walk along the rock ledge until you reach an unobstructed view.  You are correct that the viewpoint from just past the summit of Slide Mountain is largely grown in, but the view over the Blackhead Range from the viewpoint just before the summit of Slide is still unobstructed and spectacular.
September 15, 2016
0
Views
Jim R
I'm afraid a couple of the views may not what they were in the past due to tree growth. The "outstanding viewpoint over Table, Lone, Rocky and Balsam Cap Mountains"  is a rather disappointing view of their tops. And the final view just past the summit is definitely worth seeing but is significantly blocked.
October 21, 2014
0
Approaches to Slide Mountain
Daniel Chazin
Yes, you are correct that the Cornell-Wittenberg-Slide Trail, from its start at the Phoenicia-East Branch Trail to about the 3,500-foot elevation, is very rocky and a relatively unattractive route.  It is the old road formerly used to access the fire tower and was not built as a trail.  That is why the hike described above uses the Curtis-Ormsbee Trail to climb Slide Mountain.  This is a far more interesting and attractive route.  Unless you just want to get to the summit and back by the quickest route (and it seems that most people want to do that), I strongly recommend that you use the Curtis-Ormsbee Trail for the ascent of the mountain.  And for those to whom it matters, portions of the Curtis-Ormsbee Trail are actually "runnable"!
October 20, 2014
0
October 18, 2014 - Slide summit
tj7572
I did this hike on the subject date, but went both up and down via the red Wittenberg-Cornell-Slide Trail.  Was surprised how rocky it was at the lower elevations (below 3500 ft), making the descent almost as slow-going as the ascent had been.  But the summit ridge - above the deciduous tree line - is marvelous with all the pines and moss rimming the trail.  Parts of it were even runnable! (yes, I am a runner)I'm planning a future hike from the Woodland Valley side to summit Cornell and Wittenberg.  :) 
December 07, 2013
0
Snow Hike December 7th
nikolaivolkov7
I just did this hike with a friend of mine today after 2-3 inches of snow fell overnight.  The hike description was right on point as usual and it was relatively easy to find our way up to the summit.  The snow on the ground definitely made the climb a strenuous one but the conditions were awesome with a fresh powder of only 2 inches on the ground and everything around with some snow or ice covering it.  I would definitely recommend doing this hike if possible in the winter however it is obviously a little more dangerous with the icy conditions.  Most of the views were amazing especially because of the recent snow also creating numerous icicles on various rocks formations.  The fresh snow revealed some bear traffic at 4 different locations which got the neck muscles their share of exercise with all the over the shoulder peeks.  The red blazed Cornell-Wittenberg-Slide Trail is not very well marked up around the summit and the yellow blazed Phoenicia-West Branch Trail had a long stretch without any blazes as well.  I am guessing it was because the trail is probably "obvious" but not when the ground is covered in snow and it looks like the trail might go one way or another at times.  All in all I would definitely do this hike again someday perhaps in the summer.
June 23, 2012
0
Lookout for the bugs!!!
bucci
This was a phenomenal hike.  The climb up was fun and reasonably challenging.  The problem was as you got close to the summit you found yourself covered in gnats.  It was like the gnat apocalypse up there.  It was bad.  We read after that they nest in the catskills and it is better to go later in the summer/fall to avoid them.  It was my only knock on the hike.  We planned to eat lunch at the summit but the bugs made that impossible.  We turned and hustled back down the mountain.  The descent is very rocky and difficult.  It is extremely direct though so the descent is much shorter.  The views are not as panoramic as you'd hope as the trees have grown a bit too tall.  
February 28, 2012
0
Length of hike
Daniel Chazin
Michael is indeed correct that the length of the hike should be 6.8 miles.  The hike description has been corrected.  As for the rating, the hike involves a climb of about 1,600 vertical feet.  I would consider any hike with such a significant elevation gain to be "strenuous" for purposes of hike ratings, although I recognize that many hikers might find the hike "moderate," or even "easy."  I should add that, as far as Catskill peaks go, the climb of Slide Mountain is significantly easier than many other Catskill peaks.
February 28, 2012
0
thanks
michaelemeyers
thanks kmalkin, the nynjtc.org website is awesome and such a great resource. i did another hike on saturday (overlook mountain) that i also found on your site and will write that up soon Daniel's original write up above is great – I never would have done the hike with out it! From what I recall of our hike (it was snowy so some landmarks/details weren't visible) beyond the mileage data, and the timing/difficulty (which are subjective) his writeup is still accurate and very detailed… also note that i did the loop in the opposite direction of his write-up, so maybe that and or the snow made it easier for us... Daniel even reached out to me and read my write up - you guys are awesome! thanks again for putting together such a great site/resource Michael
February 28, 2012
0
Slide Mountain Winter Hike Feb. 2012
The full write up has a very enjoyable hike description.
February 28, 2012
0
Slide Mountain Winter Hike Feb. 2012
michaelemeyers
i did this hike a few days ago with a friend, i really enjoyed it and highly recommend the trail; the write-up above is a bit out of date (it was written a decade ago); the length of the loop is 6.8 miles, it took us about 4 hours - including a 20~ min. break at the top, and the difficulty is moderate. it has been a pretty mild winter – the first half-mile of the trail was a bit icy, otherwise we had no problems – the trail is well maintained and clearly marked. check out my full write up and walk-through with photos here: (site disappeared)
August 31, 2011
0
Comments from recent hike
pintoj
I recently did this hike and I would like to update some things about it: 1-This can be a very wet and muddy hike, esp. after a rain storm. I hiked it the day after a good soaking and there were rushing streams and muddy trails for half of this trail --- so be prepared for it! 2-The 3500 ft. sign is gone so you will have to find the south facing lookout without that sign, it is still pretty obvious even though the sign is gone where it it. The South facing lookout is becoming overgrown with trees making it hard to see many of the mountatins from it. However you can still see the High Point, NJ monument with binos if you look in the direction of 197 degrees if the visibility is good. 3-The view from the "Burroughs Rock" is also becoming very overgrown with trees making it almost impossible to see much other than the reservoir and the mountains towards the East. Couldn't see many Catskill mtns from here (it is claimed you can see 75 named Catskill peaks from here ... not anymore you can't except maybe when the leaves are gone) 4-The west and north facing viewpoints on the way up the Curtis trail are still clear though and worth the slogging through the water and mud!
July 19, 2010
0
Great Hike with Spectacular Views!
dvw13
Loved this hike. Did it during a spell of hot and humid weather and it was considerably cooler, less humid and breezy up high in the mountains. Definitely think the longer blue trail is the way to go - much more interesting than the red trail. Here are pictures I took along with some at Giant Ledge which is nearby: http://gonehikin.blogspot.com/2010/07/slide-mountain-and-giant-ledge-cat...