Hike Reviews

April 15, 2018
4
Singing Frogs
erijonesie
April 14, 2018 : the bugs are not bad and the frogs are singing.
October 22, 2017
4
Lots of Stone Walls to Cross and See
glennagrube
A nice loop hike, true to its Moderate rating. We had one wrong turn: In the first paragraph of the hike description, beware a turn in the blazed trail at the top of a small rocky rise where a well-worn unmarked trail runs straight ahead. We mistakenly followed that unmarked trail as it became a woods road, realizing it was not blazed. Backtracking got us completely turned around, but once we restarted the hike, we realized our mistake - reading the ground instead of the obvious blazes. The trail is well-blazed throughout, particularly the nice winding section in common with the Furnace Loop Trail. The two or three lookouts gave surprisingly nice vistas with no development in sight. Unfortunately, however, road noise is strong at portions where the hike parallels Route 17 or the NY Thruway. A theory on the double-wide walls: These wider walls are at the bottom of the slope, where it would be easier to move rock downhill from the field. Since rock walls are typically less than waist height, the excess number of rocks were best deposited wider rather than higher. Also possible that the wall was constructed with two parallel finished sides, and loose rock was tossed to fill in between. I was impressed by the obvious gateway openings in these walls where large square cornerstone rocks frame the opening. Overall, a really nice 2-3 hour hike with stone reminders of past history criss-crossing the hills. HUNTING SEASON NOTE: This area was posted for hunting season that started October 1. Hikers should wear bright clothing.
July 19, 2017
0
Indian Hill Trail 2016 complaint
johnm
The trail has been maintained since that time. It was examined two days ago and found in acceptable condition though not perfect: hot weather and rain have resulted in significant recent plant growth. We plan to clear it thoroughly within the next 2 or 3 weeks depending upon weather conditions.
July 18, 2017
0
Trails
CeeGee
I read a review from June 2016 of the Furnace Loop/Indian Hill Loop Trails from Hall Road that the trail is overgrown. Is it still like that or is it in better condition now?
August 15, 2016
0
Rock walls are a mystery
Daniel Chazin
As far as I am aware, no one has been able to figure out why these massive rock walls -- far wider than the ones typically used to mark property boundaries -- were built.
August 14, 2016
0
Rock walls?
V_Cioni
Did this trail yesterday and was amazed at the size and complexity of the rock walls. These couldn't just be property marker type walls. Anyone have any info on them? 
October 04, 2015
0
Just hiked today. Path is
kalex12
Just hiked today. Path is clear and the views were great. A quick hike and enjoyable.
May 13, 2013
0
Signs in Parking Area
TrekkerHikes
I noticed two signs in the parking area. The first sign makes it appear that a permit is required even for non-hunters to park in the parking area. Does that sound right?   State Park Lands Hunting AreaObtain permit before parking or hunting in this areaArea is patrolled   Also - just a note for those hiking there. Be aware hunting is allowed in May.   Hikers wear bright colorsHunting SeasonOpen dailyOct. 1 - Feb. 28 and May
April 14, 2010
0
Neat stone walls, near Southfields furnace
kleepet

I hiked this in early April 2010. The stone walls in the forest are very extensive and well worth the hike, especially if it is early spring, late fall, or winter, when no ground coverage obscures them. Photos of walls along the trail.

You can extend the hike by just under a mile if you include the red-blazed Furnace Loop Trail as well. Or, park at the trailhead by Hall Drive and Orange Turnpike, and just visit the furnace without adding the extra hike. Google Maps: Park at A and walk to B.

Photos of the furnace and surrounding area.