Board, Delegate Nominations for 2015

July 07, 2015
New York-New Jersey Trail Conference


Board, Delegate Nominations for 2015


The Nominations Committee of the Trail Conference presents the following candidates for the Board of Directors for three-year terms and Delegates-at-Large for one-year terms. These nominations will be voted on at the Annual Meeting to be held on October 22, 2015, at the Trail Conference Headquarters (600 Ramapo Valley Rd., Mahwah, NJ).

For Board of Directors

Christopher Connolly

Chris, of Tenafly, N.J., joined the board in 2005. A Trail Conference Life Member, Chris is completing five years as board chair and is leading implementation of the restructuring of the trail committees. He is trail supervisor, NJ Palisades; conservation chair for the North Jersey-Ramapo chapter of the Adirondack Mountain Club; member, New Hampshire 4000 Footer Club; a Long Trail end-to-ender; and on the administrative council of the Palisades Nature Association.

Suzan Gordon

Suzan, of Tenafly, N.J., joined the board in 2013 and is a Trail Conference Life Member with an extensive history of volunteer service on trails and with the North Jersey-Ramapo chapter of the Adirondack Mountain Club. She served many years as co-supervisor in Sterling Forest State Park. Suzan has a master’s degree in special education from Temple University and taught special education for 24 years. She is adjunct professor at William Paterson College.

Gaylord Holmes

Gaylord, of Irvington, N.Y., joined the board in 2009. He chairs the Strategic Planning Committee and co-led the steering committee on the restructuring of the trail committees. Gaylord is a trail maintainer and is a member of the board of directors of the Greater Irvington Land Trust. A graduate of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, Gaylord earned an MBA at the University of Virginia. He is a former director, Global Aviation, Citibank in New York, with prior assignments to London and Tokyo.

Kenneth Posner

Ken, of New York, New York, is Chair of Strategic Planning and Investor Relations at Capital Bank (since 2009), and previously served as Analyst for Fortress Investment Group and, for 15 years, as a Managing Director at Morgan Stanley. He is a Long Path End-to-Ender and founder of the Shawangunk Ridge Trail Run/Hike to promote awareness of the Ridge and the Trail Conference's activities there among a younger generation of trail users. A graduate of the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and a First Lieutenant in the U.S. Army, Ken is also a Certified Public Accountant, Chartered Financial Analyst, and Financial Risk Manager.

Jeffrey Senterman

Jeff, of Platte Clove, N.Y., joined the Trail Conference staff in 2011, taking on the then-new position of program coordinator for the Catskill region; in 2013 Jeff was named Senior Program Coordinator, managing the Program Coordinator staff. In addition to bringing environmental planning and office management experience to his post, Jeff had a lifetime of experience as a Catskill trail volunteer under the tutelage of his father, longtime Catskills Trails Chair Pete Senterman. On July 1, Jeff leftTrail Conference employment to become the Associate Director of the Catskill Center.

David P. Stuhr

Dave, of Ho-Ho-Kus, N.J., is a Trail Conference Life Member and, since 1973, an active Boy Scout leader. As an adviser to the Order of the Arrow he helped develop the Palisades Historic Trail that includes portions of the Shore Trail and the Long Path. Dave joined the board in 2011 and chairs the audit committee. Dave has been a member of the Faculty of Business of Fordham University and has held several administrative posts, most recently associate vice president for academic affairs. He retired in 2011, but continues on a part-time basis as senior faculty adviser and emeritus associate professor of finance and economics.

Delegates at Large

Therese Allen

Susan Barbuto

Cliff Berchtold

Norman Blumenstein

Jane Daniels

Jack Driller

Harvey Fishman

Bob Fuller

Pete Heckler

Jill Hamell

Rob Lehmann

Mark Liss

Paul Makus

Margo Moss

Karen Rose

Robert Ross

Ruth Rosenthal

Mellonie Sanborn

Frank Schoof

Karl Soehnlein

Douglas Sohn

Daniel Van Engel

Robert Ward