Hike Reviews

March 22, 2014
0
Suggested Improved Directions & Trail Description
Bleeding Heart Libertarian Hiker
Below are suggestions for improving the Directions and Descriptions for this great hike. I have not had the chance to enjoy this area since childhood - when I do I will update the number of yards below where I left ??? for now. An excellent PDF of the trails around Bear Mountain Stagte Park, including to Doodletown, can be found here: http://nysparks.com/parks/attachments/BearMountainTrailMap.pdf.   I would replace the driections posted abve with this paragraph: Driving Directions: The simplest access is from a small trailhead just south of the Bear Mt Bridge. It is 1.3 miles south of the Bear Mt Circle on Rte. 9W/202, immediately south of South Entrance Road, and just north of Iona Island Rd. There is a small parking area on the east (river) side of the road, next to a concrete bridge over a small brook called either Timp Brook or Doodle Brook. I would replace the first two paragrpahs of the trail description above with these three: Description: On the west side of the road, Cornell Mine Trail crosses the brook. Follow the trail north (right). Turn left at a sign for "Doodletown" and proceed uphill on an old road with crumbling pavement. This road, known as Doodletown Road has small historic markers that identify various former buildings and their occupants. The road makes a sharp left turn and continues uphill. In about ??? yards, continue straight onto Ski Trail as Cornell Trail breaks to the right. Near the top of the hill, the 77E Trail comes in from the right and joins the road. Continue ahead along the road, now following the 77E blazes. After skirting the Doodletown Reservoir (seen as the pond along the Timp Brook here: https://www.google.com/maps/@41.2965617,-73.9932192,15z), you'll reach a T-intersection, where you should turn right onto 77W.
October 14, 2013
0
Nice Hike
brooksm549
I did this hike with my wife and dog on 10/12/13.  Very nice hike and description was easy to follow.  After passing the reservoir and turning right at the T-intersection a black bear walked onto the path about 50 yards ahead of us.  I was pretty surprised at first since we have never encountered one before.  We slowly backed up and the bear briefly looked toward us.  He or she then slowly continued walking away from us and into the woods.  After a few minutes we continued the hike without see it again (thankfully in my opinion!).  I hope this does not discourage people from hiking, but I think you should be aware and know what to do should you come across one.  It is called Bear Mountain after all!    
August 05, 2013
0
Great hike, loved the cemeteries
Manning Krull
Great hike, loved the cemeteries and all the signs with historical info about the remains of the buildings. Got startled by a deer crashing through the bushes onto the trail right in front of us. :)
July 12, 2013
0
Got confused--possible trail blockage
arunkristiandas
I hiked this loop on July 11, but starting and ending at the Bear Mountain Inn. This description was very helpful -- THANK YOU. However, I did veer off course in once place -- after climbing to the top of the hill where the bridle path rises (with stream on the right) and I made a right turn, I ended up descending along a rough path and finding myself on the OLD AT (the white blazes were painted over). That's because at the top of the hill I didn't see an obvious way to continue on the bridle path -- I did see what may have been a Y junction, but the path to the right was not only blocked by fallen trees, but I really didn't see a "path" beyond those trees. Maybe I was wrong. Anyway, no harm done. I followed the old AT down the hill and then rejoined 1777W and then the bridle path. It was a great hike but rougher surface than I expected.
December 19, 2012
0
Take a detour to the Bear Mountain Inn
See the Inn for Christmas. Have some cocoa. Bring your map. It's not far off the trail.
April 15, 2012
0
Hike has been updated
Daniel Chazin
Thanks for your comments! I have corrected the hike description by eliminating the references to the two signs that seem to have been removed.
April 13, 2012
0
Excellent hike well
sydney.robertson
Excellent hike well described.  We did not see the "Ice Skating" sign near the trail head, or the "Ski Trail Closed" sign, so they may be gone.
October 20, 2011
0
Power Lines Cleared
Chad
All the power lines have been cleared from the Doodletown Road.  It is a great hike.  
September 04, 2011
0
September 2011 issue
curt_schultzberg
This is a great, great hike which I did about 2 weeks ago.  Lots of history and a fascinating walk thru a ghost town.  Take some time to read the signs and maybe take a stroll thru the cemeteries. It's strange to see headstones from the late 1700's right next to those of just a few years ago. Anyway, I went back about 5 days after Hurricane Irene, and be aware, that the entrance to the trail off of 9W is closed with signs indicating downed and dangerous power lines.  I was with my kids, so being a good doobie, I turned around and went to Fort Montgomery as an alternative.  Don't know how long it'll take to get this open again, but given how much extensive damage is in the Harriman/Bear Mountain park system, it could be a while. 
June 06, 2011
0
Hiked on June 5, 2011
chconnol
We hiked this trail on Sunday, June 5th. It is a nice hike and for us, it was longer than any we have done before (5 miles). Doodletown is pretty much completely grown over. Some of the sites are so over grown that you have to take the word of the signs indicating that there was ever something there (i.e. the church). The hike is an odd experience as it combines a hike with something like an archeological visit so if you’re looking for classic hiking experience, you might be a bit disappointed. There is an abundance of “barberry” bushes (I think that is what they're called). They are these small bushes with green leaves and small thorns that people use for landscaping. I think they are so prolific here because the former inhabitants must have used them on their properties and now they're running rampant. It made for some dull viewing. Daniel Chazin's write up here is once again excellent. It is so detail oriented right down to the Vandals have removed the ‘you are here' map which on the date of our hike was still present. It never let us down. My only complaint was the unmarked bridal path. Were it not for Mr. Chazin's fine write up, it would be a challenge to stay on it. Why isn't it marked? It might've made it a bit easier.